Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 13, 2012

UI awards Presidential Scholarships to incoming freshmen for 2012

(Student name) of (hometown) has been named a University of Iowa Presidential Scholar for 2012. The award is the most prestigious honor given to first-year students planning to attend the University of Iowa. (Name) is the (son/daughter) of (parent names).

Recipients were selected from a field of over 1,000 applicants. Presidential Scholarships are awarded on the basis of high school grade point average, college entrance exam scores, performance on the essay portion of the application, and high school or community service and leadership. The Presidential Scholarship package is worth $52,000 over four years.

EDITORS: This release indicates that a student from your readership area has been named a Presidential Scholar. Students have until May 1, 2012, to accept this offer. Students are listed by state and hometown, name and parents' names. Iowa students are listed first.

Bettendorf: Ava Lynn, daughter, Richard and Barbara Lynn
Bondurant: Claudia Diaz, daughter, Rose Martinez and Ivan Diaz
Burlington: Daniel Weinland, son, Jonathan and Mary Weinland
Cedar Falls: Nate Hua, son, Xinmin Hua and Yuzhen Yang
Cedar Rapids: Laura Wang, daughter, Jing Chen; Robert Hogg, son, Robert and Kate Hogg
Clive: Alexandra Bartlett, daughter, Charles and Rosemary Bartlett
Council Bluffs: Mary Faurot, daughter, Catherine and Kenneth Faurot
Davenport: Pavane Gorrepati, daughter, Pramila and Elizabeth Gorrepati
Dubuque: Claire Castaneda, daughter, Edwin and Mary Pat Castaneda
Iowa City: Ruth Riedl, daughter, Susan Riedl; Erica Segre, daughter, Alberto and Lisa Segre; Patrick Tierney, son, Kathryn Chaloner and Luke Tierney; Jeffrey Ding, son, Changmin Ding and Yuping Zhang; Woo Tack Hong, son, Hye Kyung Choi
Marshalltown: Yuxun Tan, son, Jack and Ping Tan
Parkersburg: Matthew Wicks, son, Steve and Mavis Wicks
Polk City: Emily Neff, daughter, Bill and Julie Neff
Robins: Jacqueline Belding, daughter, Jeanie and John Belding
Urbandale: Xiaoxue Liu, daughter, Ray and Julie Liu
Waterloo: Jacob Porter, son, Clark and Sharon Porter
West Des Moines: Elaine Mou, daughter, Mei Guo and Beiquan Mou; Samuel Schulte, son, Richard and Kari Schulte

Forest Park: Emily Fitzgerald, daughter, Paul and Elizabeth Fitzgerald
Hoffman Estates: Tamar Alexanian, daughter, Liza and Armen Alexanian
Oakbrook: Anastasia Kouimelis, daughter, Eleni and Nick Kouimelis

Eden Prairie: Kristin Ho, daughter, Martha and Fred Ho
Minneapolis: Gracelyn Miller, daughter, Cara Miller
Rochester: Corinne Praska, daughter, Kevin and Kate Praska

Lee’s Summit: Jenna Wengler, daughter, Julie Kirkpatrick
Springfield: Abigail Rogers, daughter, Scott Rogers

Middleton: Olan Munson, daughter, Robert and Jeongmi Munson

Holland: Rachael Johnson, daughter, Steve and Diane Johnson

San Luis Obispo: Skylar McSorley, daughter, Ty and Julie McSorley

Colorado Springs: Claire Hupy, daughter, Jeffrey and Katherine Hupy

Hong Kong: Margaret Cutlip, daughter, Michael and Katherine Cutlip

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Communication and Marketing, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Eric Page, University Communication and Marketing, 319-384-0018,