Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

 

Jan. 2, 2012

University of Iowa experts available for caucus results analysis Tuesday evening

Seven University of Iowa political experts will be available the evening of Tuesday, Jan. 3, for post-caucus analysis and insight. The contact information presented below includes the number they can be reached at after the caucus results have been announced. (Please note that we are unable to provide television studio or satellite uplink availability.) They are:

--Charles Whiteman, professor of economics, director of the University of Iowa Economic Research Institute, which provides quarterly revenue forecasts to the state government; whiteman@uiowa.edu; 319-338-1006.

--David Perlmutter, professor and director, journalism and mass communication; david-perlmutter@uiowa.edu; 319-471-5577.

--Caroline Tolbert, professor of political science and co-author of the book Why Iowa? that looks at the question of why Iowa should be the first state in the presidential nomination process; 319-621-8452; caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu.

--Joyce Berg, professor of accounting and director of the Iowa Electronic Markets, the university’s real-money political prediction futures market; joyce-berg@uiowa.edu; 319-335-0840.

--Timothy Hagle, associate professor of political science; timothy-hagle@uiowa.edu; 319-621-0946.

--Cary Covington, associate professor of political science; cary-covington@uiowa.edu; 319-331-5830.

--Douglas Jones, associate professor of computer science and expert on voting technology and possible hacking of voting machines; douglas-w-jones@uiowa.edu; 319-338-2879.

For related stories and information, visit the UI Election 2012 website at http://www.uiowa.edu/election.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010 (office), 319-541-8434 (cell), tom-snee@uiowa.edu; Kelli Andresen, 319-384-0070 (office), 319-330-9951 (cell), kelli-andresen@uiowa.edu