Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Oct. 22, 2010

Ed Wagner named 2010 Hansen Award recipient

The University of Iowa College of Public Health has named chronic disease care expert Ed Wagner, M.D., M.P.H., as the recipient of the 2010 Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award and Distinguished Lectureship.

"Dr. Wagner is one of the foremost experts in the field of chronic care. Throughout his distinguished career, he has been a leader in efforts to improve health care quality and move quality improvement research into practice," said Sue Curry, Ph.D., dean of the College of Public Health. "We are extremely pleased to bring him to Iowa City to share his knowledge and to honor him with the college's most notable award."

Wagner will deliver the Hansen Distinguished Lecture at 9:15 a.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 27, at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. His lecture is part of the conference "Prevention and Chronic Care Management: Community Strategies to Address Chronic Disease in Iowa."

The Hansen Distinguished Lecture is free and open to the public. For those interested in the attending the full conference, registration is $50. To register, visit and click on Upcoming Conferences.

Wagner is senior investigator and director of the MacColl Institute for Healthcare Innovation at the Group Health Research Institute in Seattle. He is also a professor of health services at the University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine.

He established The MacColl Institute for Healthcare Innovation in 1992, launching a new effort to move advances in quality improvement research into practice. Wagner and his team developed and disseminated the Chronic Care Model, an evidence-based framework for health care that delivers safe, effective and collaborative care to patients.

The model is widely recognized for its capacity to guide health care teams in caring for chronically ill patients. Funded as a national program by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and led by Wagner, Improving Chronic Illness Care introduced the Chronic Care Model to a wide spectrum of organizations, ranging from Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services to individual health care practices of all sizes and types.

The Hansen Award is given annually by the UI College of Public Health to honor individuals who have made sustained contributions in the health field. The award recognizes exemplary leadership, high ethical standards and an enduring commitment to improving health care on a national and international level. The award is made possible by a gift from Richard and Barbara Hansen of Iowa City. For more information about the award, visit

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications and External Relations, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242

MEDIA CONTACT: Hannah Fletcher, 319-384-4277,