Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Oct. 12, 2010

Editor's Note: This is an updated version of the news release.

Curry elected to prestigious Institute of Medicine

Susan Curry, Ph.D., dean of the University of Iowa College of Public Health in Iowa City, Iowa, and distinguished professor of health management and policy, has been elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies.

Curry, an internationally recognized expert on tobacco science, public policy and clinical practice, has led the UI College of Public Health since August 2008. Her extensive tobacco research includes studies of motivation to quit smoking, randomized trials of promising smoking cessation and prevention interventions, evaluations of the use and cost effectiveness of tobacco cessation treatments under different health insurance plans and health care costs and utilization associated with tobacco cessation.

Her many scientific and policy accomplishments in tobacco research are complemented by contributions to evidence-based public health interventions for diet, risky drinking, cancer screening and translation of research findings into health policy.

"Dean Curry’s election to the Institute of Medicine is richly deserved," said UI President Sally Mason. "She is truly a cross-disciplinary scientist whose record of leadership in tobacco control, prevention and cancer is matched by her effectiveness in ensuring the seamless transition from knowledge to strategy to policy."

Curry is a member of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and a member of the Board of Directors for the American Legacy Foundation. She has served as a member of the IOM’s National Cancer Policy Board and as a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors for the National Cancer Institute. She served as president of the Society for Research in Nicotine and Tobacco from 2009 to 2010.

Current active IOM members elect new members from a group of candidates nominated for their professional achievement and commitment to service. The IOM is unique for its structure as both an honorific membership organization and an advisory organization. Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on issues related to human health. With their election, members make a commitment to devote a significant amount of volunteer time as members of IOM study committees.

Curry is among 65 new members elected to the IOM in 2010, raising its total membership to 1,817.

"It is a great pleasure to welcome these distinguished and accomplished individuals to the Institute of Medicine," said IOM President Harvey V. Fineberg. "Each of these new members stands out as a professional whose research, knowledge and skills have significantly advanced health and medicine and who has served as a model for others. The Institute of Medicine is greatly enriched by the addition of our newly elected colleagues."

Curry joins the following UI faculty and administrators who are members of the IOM:

--Francois Abboud, M.D., the Edith King Pearson Chair in Cardiovascular Research, associate vice president for research and professor of internal medicine, and molecular physiology and biophysics.

--Nancy Andreasen, M.D., Ph.D., professor and the Andrew H. Woods Chair of Psychiatry.

--Joseph Buckwalter, M.D., the Dr. Arthur Steindler Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery and professor and head of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation.

--Kathleen Buckwalter, Ph.D., Sally Mathis Hartwig Distinguished Professor of Gerontological Nursing and professor of psychiatry and internal medicine.

--Kevin Campbell, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; the Roy J. Carver Chair of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, and head of the department; and professor of neurology and internal medicine.

--James Clifton, M.D., Roy J. Carver Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine.

--John Colloton, UI vice president emeritus for statewide health services.

--John Eckstein, M.D., professor emeritus of internal medicine and dean emeritus of the Carver College of Medicine.

--Bruce Gantz, M.D., the Brian F. McCabe Distinguished Chair and Head of Otolaryngology -- Head and Neck Surgery.

--James Merchant, M.D., Dr.P.H., professor of occupational and environmental health, and internal medicine.

--Jeff Murray, M.D., professor of pediatrics, and biological sciences, dentistry and epidemiology.

--Jennifer Niebyl, M.D., professor and former head of obstetrics and gynecology.

--Val Sheffield, M.D., Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and professor of pediatrics.

--Richard Smith, M.D., the Sterba Hearing Research Professor and vice chair of Otolaryngology -- Head and Neck Surgery.

--Robert Wallace, M.D., the Irene Ensminger Stecher Cancer Research Professor and professor of epidemiology in the College of Public Health.

--Michael Welsh, M.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; the Roy J. Carver Chair of Internal Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics; and professor of internal medicine and molecular physiology and biophysics.

STORY SOURCE: The University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications and External Relations, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242

MEDIA CONTACT: Hannah Fletcher, 319-384-4277,; Writer: Dan McMillan

PHOTOS: Low-res image at:; for high-res images, contact Hannah Fletcher, 319-384-4277,