Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 19, 2010

UI names Outstanding Teaching Assistants

The University of Iowa has named 30 teaching assistants the winners of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards for 2009-10. Winners receive a certificate of achievement and $1,000. They were honored at an award reception May 6.

Jill Beckman, chair of the Council on Teaching, thanked the award-winning teaching assistants for their dedication to undergraduate teaching and for their outstanding service to the university.

“Honoring these outstanding TAs is one of our council’s most important responsibilities,” Beckman said. “Excellent teaching in the undergraduate classroom is central to the university’s mission, and teaching assistants are so important to that. They make a huge difference, both to the success of the university and in the lives of the undergraduates they teach.”

Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education Beth Ingram said that graduate students’ engagement in research and creative activity enhances their undergraduate teaching.

“Graduate students are actively contributing to the body of knowledge in their own academic programs,” Ingram said. “These outstanding TAs have brought that passion and energy to the undergraduate classroom, and that translates to exciting learning experiences for the students they teach.”

The Council on Teaching has presented the awards each year since 1988. The awardees are teaching assistants who taught for at least one semester during the spring, summer, or fall of 2009. Nominations for the awards are sought from students, faculty, colleagues, departmental officers and deans.

The 2009-10 Outstanding Teaching Assistants are:

Tippie College of Business

Management and Organizations: Tamara Lynn Giluk

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Anthropology: Lavanya Murali Proctor
Anthropology: Jonathan Tanner Thomas
Anthropology: Anna Joy Waterman
Anthropology: Alexander Davidson Woods
Art and Art History: Garrett Nobbs
Biology: Angela R. Cordle
Chemistry: Elizabeth Elacqua
Chemistry: Tatiana Mishanina
English: Daniel Robert Boscaljon
General Education Literature: Joanne Nystrom Janssen
General Education Literature: Ann Pleiss Morris
German: Regina Christiane Range
Health and Sport Studies: Joanna Lynn Morrissey
History: Faye Lin Bartram
History: Dennis Leon Kuhnel
Linguistics: Vladimir Kulikov
Mathematics: Danilo Diedrichs
Mathematics: David Jonathan Gaebler
Mathematics: Mark A. Krines
Music: Brandon R. Bascom
Psychology: Kathryn Bruchmann
Religious Studies: Ezra Lincoln Plank
Religious Studies: Matthew Wilhite
Rhetoric: Kelly Ruth Anderson Winter
Rhetoric and English: Bridget Asa Draxler
Physics and Astronomy: Theodore R. Jaeger
Spanish and Portuguese: Brittany Nicole Tullis
Writers’ Workshop/Creative Writing: Hannah Sanghee Park

College of Public Health

Biostatistics: Eric D. Foster

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Stephen Pradarelli, 319-384-0007,