Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 1, 2009

UI Pharmacy student named to honor society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of the Rho Chi Society, the national academic honor society in pharmacy, during an initiation ceremony April 10 in Iowa City.

(Student last name) was inducted to the Delta Chapter, the UI-based chapter of the Rho Chi Society. To be accepted into the society, students must rank in the highest 20 percent of their class after having completed six semesters of scholastic work applicable toward their pharmacy degrees. Graduate students must have at least half of their coursework completed and maintain a grade-point average of 3.5 in order to be nominated.

Established in 1922, the Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy.

EDITORS: Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.

Ankeny: Michelle Breitwisch
Burlington: Alicen Wagenbach
Cedar Rapids: Kristi Dimke
Coralville: Bryan Zobeck
Davenport: Chris Arp, Tim Rockey
Decorah: Christina Gaard,
Garner: Alyssa Huinker (Garner Leader & Signal)
Grimes: Eric Paulus
Iowa City: Ashley Kessler, Kristin Knight
Meservey: Cara Schmale
Newton: Kyle Slings, (Newton Daily News)
West Des Moines: Kelly McLeese

Germantown Hills: Ashley Copes (Peoria Journal-Star)

Pine Island: Bradley Olcott, (Pine Island News-Record)

Knoxville: Kanghee Derocher (Knoxville News-Sentinel)

Whitefish Bay: Robert Moss (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel)

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Care Media Relations, 5137 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: Becky Soglin, 319-335-6660,