Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 26, 2009

Four UI faculty members win top teaching award

Four University of Iowa faculty members have won the 2009 President and Provost Award For Teaching Excellence in recognition of their years of outstanding teaching. The recipients are: George Bergus, professor of family medicine in the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine; Kenneth Brown, associate professor of management and organizations in the Henry B. Tippie College of Business; Randall Bezanson, professor in the College of Law; and Kathleen Kamerick, lecturer in history in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The award, which is administered by the UI Council on Teaching, was created in 2004 as a universitywide recognition for faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained, high level of teaching excellence.

Bergus, who holds the Dr. William and Sondra Myers Family Professorship, has taught in the Department of Family Medicine since 1990. Residents in the department have selected him as "teacher of the year" four times, and in 2008 he received the Collegiate Teaching Award. He is founding director of the innovative Performance Based Assessment Program, which evaluates medical students' clinical skills by observing their performance in simulated physician-patient encounters -- a program designed to provide timely, constructive feedback so that students who need to develop in certain areas can receive individual attention and resources.

Brown, who holds the Huneke Faculty Research Fellowship, has taught in the Department of Management and Organizations since 1998. In addition to teaching the large lecture course in Introduction to Management, he works with students outside the classroom on independent or honors studies. He also works with student groups such as Future Business Leaders of America, for which he is currently the advisor, and with other faculty and university committees, with whom he shares expertise gleaned from his research into the motivational forces that influence learning efforts and outcomes. Brown won the Collegiate Teaching Award in 2007 and was selected by students as Faculty Advisor of the Year in 2008.

Bezanson, who is the David H. Vernon Professor of Law, first joined the faculty of the College of Law in 1973 and returned to the faculty in 1994 after serving as dean of the Washington and Lee University School of Law for six years. One of the college's most widely respected scholars -- working primarily in the areas of constitutional law and the first amendment -- Bezanson has served as faculty advisor of the Iowa Law Review and of the Iowa Journal of Gender, Race, & Justice. He won the Regents Award for Faculty Excellence in 2007 and presented the 2007-08 Presidential Lecture.

Kamerick has taught in the Department of History since 1996. She regularly teaches the large general education survey course in Western Civilization, and has developed several colloquia and other courses focused on medieval studies. In the large survey courses, where many students are not expected to go on to study the subject in greater depth, Kamerick gives students practice in writing well and in analyzing primary and secondary sources -- skills that will serve them well in any field of study.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Jill Beckman, Council on Teaching, 319-335-0214,; Charles Drum. University Relations, 319-384-0048,