Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


June 15, 2009

Carver College of Medicine honors distinguished alumni

The University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine honored the accomplishments of four alumni at its 2009 Distinguished Alumni Awards presentation and luncheon held June 12 in Iowa City. This year's honorees were Dennis Boatman, Sandra Horning, Fayez Ghishan and Gail McGuinness.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor the college bestows upon its graduates, recognizing those who have transcended their fundamental roles as health care providers, scientists and educators to become leaders in the advancement of medicine.

The awards include two categories of distinction. The Award for Service is presented for meritorious leadership and service in a professional capacity or to a community, state or nation. The Award for Achievement recognizes significant personal accomplishments of alumni in science, medicine and education.

Following are biographical sketches of this year's Distinguished Alumni Award recipients:

Dennis Boatman, M.D., received an Award for Service for 40 years of leadership benefiting Cedar Rapids, as well as the state and UI. Originally from Bloomfield, Iowa, Boatman earned three UI degrees: bachelor of arts, masters of science and medical. Following an internship and Air Force service, he completed a UI urology residency. Boatman helped countless patients through his urology practice in Cedar Rapids until retiring in 2006. The Iowa Medical Society has recognized him for his 25 years of fundraising leadership. Boatman was board president of Theatre Cedar Rapids and assisted the United Way, Camp Tanager, Mount Mercy College and Iowa Public Radio. A lifetime honorary director of the UI Foundation board of directors, Boatman has been involved in many UI fundraising campaign. He directed the national effort to build the Medical Education Research Facility and establish endowments for education, research and scholarships, raising more than $30 million in the most successful capital campaign ever for the medical school. Boatman also had an essential role in the UI Foundation's university–wide campaign that raised more than $1 billion.

Sandra Horning, M.D., received an Award for Service in recognition of her constant advocacy for evidence-based cancer care and policies and practices that help reduce the burden of cancer on patients and their families. Horning has led investigations for several pivotal clinical trials that validated current lymphoma treatment and helped establish the standards of care for patients with virtually all lymphoma subtypes. A Creston, Iowa, native, Horning earned a bachelor's degree and a medical degree from the UI. During her first month in medical school, Horning's father died of cancer, a loss that greatly influenced her career. After completing a residency in internal medicine at the University of Rochester, Horning trained in oncology at Stanford University School of Medicine and subsequently joined the faculty. She currently is professor of medicine in oncology and blood and bone marrow transplantation. Horning has served the 25,000-member American Society of Clinical Oncology as president and a board member.

Fayez Ghishan, M.D., was honored with an Award for Achievement for leadership in pediatric gastroenterology that helped advance patient care, research and teaching. Born in Jordan, Ghishan attended medical school in Turkey and came to the United States in 1975 for a residency at Pennsylvania State University. He then enrolled in a UI pediatric fellowship, which sparked his interest in basic science research. Ghishan published 16 papers in just two years and become a tireless advocate for research. After completing the fellowship in 1979, he joined Vanderbilt University as director of pediatric gastroenterology and vice-chair for research. He later joined the University of Arizona as head of pediatrics and director of the Steele Children's Research Center. His research focuses on nutrient, mineral and electrolyte transport mechanisms in the gastrointestinal epithelium. He has cloned a human intestinal sodium-phosphate transporter gene and characterized the structure, function and regulation of a variety of other sodium-phosphate transporters. Ghishan also has earned two National Institutes of Health MERIT Awards and continuous funding for the past 30 years.

Gail McGuinness, M.D., earned an Award for Achievement for advancing the education of young physicians over the past 30 years. Now executive vice president of the American Board of Pediatrics, McGuinness completed a UI residency and a UI fellowship in pediatrics in the 1970s. She then joined the UI faculty and served nearly continuously as director of the Pediatric Residency Training Program until 2002. As a clinician in the neonatology intensive care unit at UI Children's Hospital, she was known for her unique ability to provide complex medical care, guide parents through stressful situations and serve as a role model for residents. She also provided critical leadership for national physician education programs. In 1994, McGuinness began committee work for the American Board of Pediatrics and became senior vice president in 2002. She recently spearheaded a four-year endeavor to comprehensively assess general pediatrics residency training, leading to innovative educational changes. She holds clinical appointments in pediatrics at the University of North Carolina and Duke University.  

Alumni of the UI Carver College of Medicine include all graduates of the university's education and training programs for undergraduate and graduate medical education, associated medical sciences, and graduate basic sciences.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Care Media Relations, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room E110 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

MEDIA CONTACT: Becky Soglin, 319-356-7127,