Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


June 11, 2009

UI is designated Truman Foundation Honor Institution

Truman Foundation President Madeleine K. Albright has designated the University of Iowa as a Truman Foundation Honor Institution for 2009. 

The award recognizes Iowa for “active encouragement of outstanding young people to pursue careers in public service.” It goes to institutions of higher education that enjoy sustained success in helping their students win Truman Scholarships and promoting the principles of public service demonstrated by the foundation’s namesake. The UI joins the University of Missouri as a 2009 honoree.

“We thank the Truman Foundation for honoring our long tradition of preparing young people to enter careers devoted to public service,” said University of Iowa President Sally Mason. “We are very proud of our graduates who go on to serve communities across our state, throughout our nation and around the globe. This is one of our core missions and one that is clearly aligned with the values of Iowans.”

Frederick G. Slabach, executive secretary of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, will present the University of Iowa with a plaque featuring a likeness of President Truman. This is planned for a ceremony in Iowa City in Fall 2009.

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation is the living federal memorial to the country’s 33rd president. It awards 60 to 65 merit-based scholarships each year to college juniors who wish to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in public service. Each Truman Scholar receives up to $30,000 in scholarship support, fellowship with persons sharing similar values and ideals, priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, and career and graduate school counseling.

Through 2009, nine students from the University of Iowa have won Truman Scholarships, including two in the last two years: Meredith DeBoom in 2008 and Rachel Nathanson in 2009.

Andrea Beloy, scholarships director for the UI Honors Program, manages University of Iowa nominations. The Truman Faculty Representative at the University of Iowa is Honors Director John S. Nelson, professor of political science. He joined Vickie Wilson, faculty representative from the University of Missouri, the other institution honored for 2009, at the Truman Scholars Leadership Weekend. Each May at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo., it readies the new class of scholars for their future years of internship, study, and public service.

For additional information on the Truman Scholarship program at the UI, see

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: John S. Nelson, Honors Director, 319-335-1685,; Tom Moore, UI spokesperson, 319-356-3945, Writer: George McCrory