Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Sept. 5, 2007

Fourteen staff members receive UI excellence awards

Fourteen staff members at The University of Iowa are recipients of one of three annual staff awards for excellence presented by the UI Staff Council.

The 2006 David J. Skorton Staff Excellence Award for Public Service is given annually to individuals who have made significant contributions and have shown "exceptional imagination and dedication to improving the university community." Service must include activities of high quality in staff governance, committee work, policy improvement, program creation, etc. and must be outside normal job responsibilities. The winners will be recognized at a university event this fall and will receive $500 and a commemorative gift. The award was given to Jodi Linley, assistant director, Iowa biosciences advantage program, and Barbara Spence, administrative specialist II, microbiology.

Six Board of Regents Staff Excellence Awards were given to UI staff members for outstanding accomplishments and contributions to their institutions as well as to the state of Iowa. Established in 1993, the award was created to provide a statewide forum to recognize staff members in conjunction with colleagues from the other Board of Regents institutions. Their accomplishments have significantly benefited the UI, brought honor or recognition to the university and had a significant positive impact on the state of Iowa. Each winner receives a commemorative gift, and the university grants a $1,000 prize to the winner's department to be used for his/her benefit.

The 2007 Board of Regents Staff Excellence Award winners are:

-- John Achrazoglou, director, education technology center, College of Education;

-- Rebecca Anthony, director, educational placement office, College of Education;

-- Elaine Haddy, associate director of human resources/information management;

-- Chris Kula, business manager, central mail services and university copy centers;

-- Patricia W. Mason-Browne, assistant director of academic programs and services, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; and

-- Marinea Mehrhoff, supervisor of radiochemistry/chemist III, University Hygienic Lab.

Six additional staff members were awarded the UI Outstanding Staff Award. The award winners were recognized for "outstanding accomplishments and contributions that significantly benefited or brought honor or recognition to the university." All recipients will be recognized at a university event in the fall. In addition, Staff Council will present a commemorative gift to each awardee at a departmental event held in honor of the winner.

The 2007 UI Outstanding Staff Award winners are:

--Janet Crow, dental registrar, College of Dentistry;

-- Diana Harris, director, Project and Communications Manager, College of Engineering;

-- Patricia Kosier, human resources manager, University Hygienic Laboratory;

-- Jerry Slezak, parking cashier attendant, parking and transportation;

-- Katherine Walden, assistant to the chair, obstetrics and gynecology; and

-- Kristy Walker, director of clinical applications, health care information system.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Charles S. Drum, University News Services, 319-384-0048,