Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 28, 2007

UI Staff Council Members, Officers Elected

University of Iowa staff members have elected 21 new members to Staff Council, which also named officers at its March 21 meeting.

Staff Council represents approximately 5,400 professional, scientific and special services staff members who are not covered by a bargaining unit.

New officers for 2007-08 are:

  • Kathy Klein, a secretary IV in the Graduate College, president;
  • Duncan Stewart, a cataloging librarian in University Libraries, vice president/president elect;
  • Nancy Davin, administrative assistant II (human resources) in Student Health Services, secretary;
  • Sarah Tallman, administrative specialist II in Research Services Administration, budget officer;
  • Mary Greer, Web editor, Health Care Information Systems, past president.

The new councilors elected in their respective classifications will begin their three-year terms in April.

The administrative/academic councilors are: Linda Bergquist, assistant director in Hospital Human Resources; Nancy G. Fick, director of human resources, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS); John W. Forys, Jr., engineering librarian, University Libraries; Mary Greer, web editor, Health Care Information Systems; Diane Hauser academic advisor II, Academic Advising Center; Helen Jameson, assistant director for programming, Office of International Students and Scholars in International Programs, Robert Manders, application development and support III, Administrative Information Systems in Information Technology Services; Patricia Mason-Browne, program associate I (assistant director), CLAS Academic Programs and Services; Laura C. Prince, human resources specialist II, Faculty and Staff Immigration Services in Human Resources; Amber Seaton, administrative assistant II, Department of Chemistry; and Kristina Venzke, program associate I,Occupational and Environmental Health.

The special services councilors (merit employees with supervisory exempt/confidential status) are: Kathy Last, secretary II, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity; Heather Schnoebelen, office coordinator I, Admissions; and Julie Sexton, secretary IV, Department of Neurology, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

The professional health care councilors are: Glenn Kell, heath services administrator II, Department of Urology, UI Hospitals; Jill Kordick, health services administrator II, Joint Office for Clinical Outreach Services, UI Hospitals; Paul Ruff Hazardous Materials Specialist I, Health Protection Office; Dianne Wasson, advanced practice nurse in the Strategic Relations Department, UI Health Plans Office.

The professional research councilors are: Diana Boeglin; research assistant III, Department of Urology, UI Hospitals; Michael Schueller; limnologist III, University Hygienic Laboratory; Kristine M. Sigsbee, assistant research scientist, Department of Physics and Astonomy.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Media: George McCrory, 319-384-0012,; Program: UI Staff Council, 319-335-3600,