Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Sept. 20, 2006

Provost Names Search Committee For College Of Pharmacy Dean

University of Iowa Executive Vice President and Provost Michael J. Hogan today named the search committee charged with identifying and screening candidates for a new dean for the UI College of Pharmacy. The current dean, Jordan Cohen, will retire from the university effective Aug. 1, 2007.

"I'm very pleased with the composition of the search committee, and grateful to each of the members for agreeing to serve," Hogan said.

Jean Robillard, Dean of the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, will serve as chair of the committee.

Other members of the committee are:

Paul Abramowitz, assistant dean for University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, College of Pharmacy

Barry Carter, professor, clinical and administrative pharmacy

Maureen Donovan, associate professor, pharmaceutics

Vernon Duba, librarian, College of Pharmacy

Karen Farris, associate professor, clinical and administrative pharmacy

Robert Kerns, associate professor, medicinal and natural products chemistry

Aliasger Salem, assistant professor, pharmaceutics

Hazel Seaba, assistant dean for curriculum and assessment, College of Pharmacy

Sarah Snyder, president, College of Pharmacy Student Council

Thomas Temple, executive vice president and CEO, Iowa Pharmacy Association

The UI College of Pharmacy, which was established in 1885, is the fourth-oldest public university pharmacy school in the country. It has 45 faculty and 512 students, with 4,400 living alumni. The college is ranked 18th in the nation in the U.S. News & World Report Best Graduate Schools rankings of schools of pharmacy.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,; Writer: Kris Yows.