The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 13, 2006

Boyd, Sidel To Serve On National Non-Profit Committee

The University of Iowa's commitment to helping the state's non-profit organizations has helped land two of its law professors on a prestigious national committee.

Sandy Boyd and Mark Sidel will serve on a committee that will examine self-regulation proposals for the non-profit sector in lieu of additional mandates from Congress.

The Advisory Committee on Self-Regulation of the Charitable Sector was convened by Independent Sector, a national organization that seeks to improve the performance of non-profits, charities, foundations and other non-profit organizations.

"The non-profit sector has a long tradition of self-regulation, and our panel will build on the work of various organizations that have already developed standards, accreditation, and training," said Sidel, whose research focuses on law, philanthropy and the non-profit sector.

Boyd said the University of Iowa provides a wealth of resources to help non-profit organizations in Iowa and across the country. One example is the Larned A. Waterman Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center that Boyd founded and co-directs, and that provides management consulting services to the state's non-profit organizations. The Waterman Center also recently worked with the Governor's Task Force on Charitable Nonprofit Organizations to create the Iowa Principles and Practices of Charitable Nonprofit Excellence. The principles and practices and the center's new Register of Iowa Nonprofit Accountability exemplify self-regulation and education, Boyd said. The Waterman Center is currently conducting training in the Principles and Practices in seven different Iowa cities.

"The non-profit sector is a crucial part of the American economy and the University of Iowa is a leader in keeping it strong and healthy," said Boyd, president emeritus of the UI and the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago.

The committee panel includes leaders of some of the largest and most innovative non-profit organizations in the country, including the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, W.K. Kellogg Foundation, AARP and the American Cancer Society. The panel is chaired by Joel L. Fleishman, director of the Samuel & Ronnie Heyman Center for Ethics, Public Policy, and the Professions at Duke University's Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy; and Rebecca W. Rimel, president and CEO of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

The committee will report to the Panel on the Nonprofit Sector, a group made up of the leaders of non-profit organizations from across the country that works to develop recommendations on financial reporting standards, improvements to reporting procedures, sample governance policies and self-regulation by charitable organizations.


For more information on the Committee on Self-Regulation:

For more information on the Larned A. Waterman Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center:

For more information on Professor Mark Sidel:

For more information on Professor Willard "Sandy" Boyd:

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,