The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 2, 2005

Six UI Professors Win Regents Awards For Faculty Excellence

Six University of Iowa faculty members have won the 2005 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education.

This year's recipients from the UI are:

Judith Aikin, professor of German and former dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is an international authority on early modern German literature. She has been a member of the UI faculty since 1975, regularly teaching courses at all levels, from elementary language courses to core courses in the German major to general education literature courses for non-majors to graduate seminars. In her research, she has evolved from a scholar of German Baroque drama to a historian of early modern culture at the intersection of religion, gender and performance. She is the author of four books as well as dozens of refereed articles and book chapters. She served as the college's associate dean for faculty from 1990 to 1992, then as interim dean for a year before becoming dean in 1993. Since returning to the faculty full-time in 1997, she has been elected to the Faculty Senate and Faculty Council and has served on many other committees in her department and for the university.

Constance Berman, professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is a leading social historian of the Middle Ages. She joined the UI faculty in 1988 and teaches a full range of courses on medieval history, including the first course in the highly enrolled Western civilization sequence. As the history department's director of undergraduate studies (1999-2001), she revamped departmental advising for majors, and she also developed a teaching proseminar for teaching assistants. Her contributions as a graduate teacher now have impact on the practices of historians nationally through her service on the American Historical Association's Committee on Graduate Education (2000-03), which produced the highly influential report "The Education of Historians for the Twenty-first Century." Berman has written two books on the Cistercian order and edited two more on medieval women and religion. Her extensive service activities on campus include elected terms on the Graduate Council and the Faculty Senate.

Dorothy Johnson, F. Wendell Miller Professor and director of the School of Art and Art History in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is one of the world's leading scholars of 18th- and 19th- century art, particularly the career of Jacques-Louis David. She has been a member of the UI faculty since 1987. Her current research examines Romantic Hellenism in French art. An elected member of the board of directors of the College Art Association, she also has been active in planning and chairing sessions for the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies. She has been director of the School of Art and Art History since 1995.

Ronald Lauer, professor emeritus of pediatrics in the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and epidemiology in the College of Public Health, is internationally renowned for his research on coronary risk factors in youth that are predictive of adult cardiovascular disease. A faculty member in the Carver College of Medicine since 1968 and in the College of Public Health since 1999, Lauer started work on the UI Muscatine Heart Study in 1970, research that determined blood pressure and cholesterol norms for school-aged children and provided links between child and adult heart health. The study is one of the largest and longest studies of cardiac risk factors for cardiovascular disease in children. Lauer also was instrumental in developing the pediatric cardiology division in the college's Department of Pediatrics. Lauer has received many awards, including the Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award from the American Heart Association in 2002. He has written more than 130 scientific articles and many book chapters and books.

Raymond Crowe, George Winokur Professor of Psychiatry in the Carver College of Medicine, is an internationally recognized psychiatric geneticist. His research focuses on genetic linkage studies to search for genes for panic disorder, depression, schizophrenia and alcoholism. Crowe also directed a federally funded training program in psychiatric genetics for 25 years, during which time he trained many physicians and scientists who went on to have their own distinguished careers. Since joining the UI faculty in 1972, Crowe has served as director of the psychiatry consultation service and the electroconvulsive therapy service and as co-director of the medical-psychiatry service. Crowe has written 128 peer-reviewed papers and 28 book chapters, making significant contributions to the medical community's ability to treat psychiatric patients.

Keela Herr, professor of nursing, is a noted expert in pain management in older adults. As the College of Nursing's area chair in adult and gerontological nursing, she leads Iowa's noted program in training nurses to serve the elderly while still conducting her own active research program, which has been funded by the National Institutes of Health as well as by other federal and foundation agencies. Herr is a sought-out expert in pain management, having served in leadership roles in numerous professional organizations. She also serves as manuscript reviewer and editorial board member for several journals and has published more than 70 of her own articles, reports and chapters. In her role as educator, Herr has been lauded for development and direction of the distance learning program that allows the RN-trained nurse to complete a bachelor's degree. Herr's efforts as researcher, advocate and teacher have led to her receipt of numerous awards and recognitions, including the Point of Presence Award for Higher Education from the Iowa Distance Learning Association, the American Society of Pain Management Nurses Nurse Exemplar Award, the Advancement of Science Award from the Midwest Nursing Research Society Pain Research Section, and fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011, Writer: Anne Remington.