The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa Foundation News Release

Jan. 4, 2005

UI Foundation Board Elects New Directors

The University of Iowa Foundation Board of Directors elected four new members at its October 2004 meeting: Nolden I. Gentry Jr. of Des Moines; Thomas R. Hanson of Hinsdale, Ill.; Arlene M. Holden of Williamsburg, Iowa; and W.A. "Bill" Krause of West Des Moines. All were elected to three-year terms.

Nolden Gentry is an attorney and shareholder with the Des Moines law firm of Brick, Gentry, Bowers, Swartz, Stoltze, Schuling & Levis P.C. He received two degrees from the University of Iowa: a B.A. in political science in 1960 and a J.D. in 1964. Gentry is a lifetime honorary director for the Iowa Law School Foundation and serves on the board of directors of the National I-Club (of which he was president during 2001-2002) and the UI Black Alumni Association. Gentry is a generous supporter of the Iowa Law School and of UI Athletics; in 1997 he received the UI's Hancher/Finkbine medallion.

Thomas R. Hanson graduated from the UI in 1960 with a B.S. degree in mechanical engineering. After a career with several corporations, in 1980 Hanson founded Thermal Air Systems, which became Fleming Hanson Sales in 1991. Hanson and his wife, Nancy A. Schneider Hanson, are members of the UI Presidents Club-Silver, which recognizes the UI's most generous contributors, and are lifetime members of the UI College of Engineering Dean's Club. The Hanson Center for Technical Communication in the UI engineering college is named to recognize the Hansons for their gift endowing the program. Thomas Hanson is a member of the "Good. Better. Best. Iowa" National Campaign Steering Committee.

Arlene Holden and her husband, Ronald, are members of the Presidents Club-Gold, the Health Sciences Campaign Steering Committee and the National Campaign Steering Committee. Arlene is also a member of the UI Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center Advisory Board. Arlene and Ronald Holden actively support a variety of UI areas, including the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center, the 102 Church Street Renovation Project and UI Athletics. The Holden family made a landmark gift of $25 million in 2000 to fund cancer care and research programs at the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics.

W.A. "Bill" Krause received his B.A. degree in journalism and mass communication from the UI in 1957. Krause is president and chief executive officer of the Krause Gentle Corporation of West Des Moines. A generous supporter of several programs in the UI's Henry B. Tippie College of Business, in 1999 he was appointed a member of the college's Board of Visitors. Twice president of the National I-Club, Krause currently serves as co-chair for the athletic program's initiatives within the "Good. Better. Best. Iowa" campaign. In September 2004, Krause and his wife, Nancy, announced a $5 million gift commitment on behalf of their family to the Kinnick Stadium renovation campaign. In June 2000 Bill Krause received the UI's Distinguished Alumni Award for Achievement. The Krauses are members of the Presidents Club-Gold.

Re-elected to the UI Foundation board for three-year terms were:

--Andrew W. Code of Hinsdale, Ill.

--David J. Fisher of West Des Moines.

--David A. Hoak of Des Moines.

--Roger L. Lande of Muscatine.

--Casey D. Mahon of Iowa City.

--John Pappajohn of Des Moines.

--Marvin A. Pomerantz of Des Moines.

--Robert W. Verhille of Solon, Iowa.

--Nancy B. Willis of Iowa City.

The foundation board elected James C. Hanson of Moline, Ill., a Lifetime Honorary Director. Hanson has been a board member since 1992 and served on the board's executive and audit committees.

Serving on the foundation's Executive Committee for 2004-2005 are:

--David A. Hoak.

--Charles M. Kierscht, Chair, of Hinsdale, Ill.

--Marvin A. Pomerantz.

--Carroll J. Reasoner of Cedar Rapids.

--Gary F. Seamans of Galena, Ill.

--David J. Skorton, M.D. (Ex Officio) of Iowa City.

--Robert W. Verhille.

--Catherine Zaharis of Des Moines.

The UI acknowledges the UI Foundation as the preferred channel for private contributions that benefit all areas of the university. For more information about the UI Foundation, visit its web site at

STORY SOURCE: UI Foundation, P.O. Box 4550, Iowa City, Iowa 52244-4550

MEDIA CONTACT: Susan Shullaw, 319-335-3305, ext. 861; 800-648-6973, ext. 861;


Web versions:

High resolution for print: