The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 27, 2000

UI recognizes students, faculty, staff and alumni at Finkbine Dinner

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa honored several outstanding students, faculty and alumni Tuesday, April 25 at the 83rd anniversary Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, one of the most prestigious award ceremonies, at the Iowa Memorial Union Main Lounge.

The event was first held in 1917 to honor campus leaders and give them an opportunity to meet administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and an 1880 UI law graduate.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964.

Here is a listing of the awards presented:

Hancher-Finkbine Undergraduate Student Medallion: Julia Anne Di Gangi, senior double-major in journalism and Spanish from Orland Park, Ill; and Chad Rheshie Doobay, senior global studies and political science major from Nevada, Iowa.

Di Gangi is an Honors Program member and has been named to the President's List each semester since enrolling at the UI. She was a state Rhodes Scholar finalist and spent two semesters studying abroad in Seville, Spain, and Buenos Aires, Argentina. Di Gangi interned in the Office of the Press Secretary at the White House, and was a "Daily Iowan" and "Iowa Journalist" reporter, as well as news director for the student-run radio station KRUI. She is a Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority member and president of the Students for Gore organization.

Doobay has been awarded the William and Elizabeth Pennigroth Award, Rhodes Dunlap Honors Program Scholarship and has been a Dean's List student each semester as a UI student. He has been a research assistant for College of Law and Political Science faculty, and is completing research on his Honor's Program thesis. He is chair of the UI Lecture Committee, is an Undergraduate Collegiate Senator, and a member of the Global Studies Student Organization. He has interned with the Principal Financial Group in Corporate Diversity Initiative/Human Resources and the Pension Sales and Federal Government Relations areas.

Hancher-Finkbine Graduate/Professional Student Medallion: Sadath A. Sayeed, fourth-year medical student from Des Moines; and Debra Lynne Schutte, College of Nursing doctoral student from Grand Island, Neb.

Sayeed had been a practicing attorney and was recently selected for the Oxford Exchange clerkship at Radcliff Infirmary, the highest award a student in the college can receive. He recently completed an eight-week clinical fellowship in Kathmandu, Nepal, as a recipient of the Barry Freeman Memorial Fellowship. He has been a student member of the College of Medicine Promotions Committee, vice president of the ambassador program, and helped organize medical education programs for more than 30 area secondary schools.

Schutte has won the Aydelotte Fellowship Award and the Germain Krysan Grant Award from the American Nurses Foundation. She received an Individual Pre-doctoral Fellowship and participates in the UI College of Nursing Gerontological Nursing Interventions Research Center Pilot Grant. She has served as chairperson of the Nursing graduate student organization, and is a member of the executive board of the International Society of Nurses in Genetics.

Hancher-Finkbine Faculty Medallion: Jerald L. Schnoor, professor, civil and environmental engineering. Schnoor is also an occupational and environmental health, and a research engineer in the Iowa Institute of Hydraulic Research. Schnoor is co-director of the Iowa Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research, and has twice been named a UI Distinguished Professor. He received the Faculty Excellence Award from the Board of Regents, and the College of Engineering Outstanding Faculty Research Award. He advises three to five undergraduates in research and up to 12 master's and doctoral students each year. He served as president of the Faculty Senate, and on many UI college committees, including chair of the dean's search committee and Faculty and Staff Engineering Building Financial Campaign.

Hancher-Finkbine Alumni Medallion: Dennis L. Boatman, staff physician, Mercy Medical Center, and at St. Luke's Hospital in Cedar Rapids, where he is also head of Urology. Boatman has served on the UI Foundation Board of Directors since 1987, where he is currently chair, and with the College of Medicine endowment campaign. Boatman received his bachelor's degree in science education in 1962, a master's in pharmacology in 1964, and a medical doctorate in 1966, all from the UI.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964.

Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award: Eric Richard, third-year law student, Newton. The award, which carries a $1,500 award, is presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the UI's commitment to human rights. It was established in 1981 in honor of the long-time UI faculty member and administrator who was one of the faculty members on the first UI Human Rights Committee.

Distinguished Student Leader Certificates: Sara Jeanine Kagay, third-year law student of Shambaugh, Iowa; Nicole Joy Kirkwood, senior global studies and economics major of Dyersville; Julie Sue Kraus, senior speech and hearing major and English minor, of Fairfield; David Allan Anderson, fourth-year medical student, of Sioux City; Kimberly De Welcher Batterson, fourth- year dental student of Iowa City; Patricia Lea Brandow Hardre, is a Ph.D. student in Instructional Design and Instructional Programs in the College of Education, of Nichols; and Jon Wolseth, doctoral student in Anthropology of Denver, Colo.

The Distinguished Student Leader Certificates are given to students who have exhibited leadership, learning and loyalty in their work with fellow students and faculty.

Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award: Todd Strada, senior finance major from Alpharetta, Ga.; Shera Wiegler, senior finance major from Bell Canyon, Calif. The award is presented each year to student-athletes who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

M.L. Huit Faculty Award: N. William Hines, dean, UI College of Law since 1976. Hines joined the faculty in 1962 and maintains an active teaching schedule, and has taught Property Law to almost every first-year law student since he became dean. Hines fosters a family atmosphere at the college, encouraging all to become involved members of the law school community. The award is presented each year to a faculty member who best characterizes Huit's contributions to university and community life.

James N. Murray Faculty Award: Mitchell J. Kelly, visiting assistant professor and teacher of Educational Psychology courses. The Murray Faculty Award is named in honor of the late James N. Murray, UI professor and past chair of political science.