The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


Director of Development
Intercollegiate Athletics - Endowment
UI Foundation News
500 Levitt Center for University Advancement
Iowa City IA 52242
Phone: (319) 335-3305

Release: December 20, 1999

Department of Athletics honors scholarship donors, recipients

IOWA CITY, Iowa—More than 70 University of Iowa student-athletes recently were recognized at the Third Annual Named Scholarship Awards Dinner. Athletic Directors Bob Bowlsby and Christine Grant announced the recipients of named scholarships for men’s and women’s athletics and expressed their appreciation for the UI alumni and friends who have endowed scholarships through the University of Iowa Foundation.

The dinner was held the first evening of the Gazette Hawkeye Challenge Men’s Basketball Tournament and provided an opportunity for scholarship recipients, contributors, and family members to meet. The student-athletes and contributors were also recognized that evening at a special ceremony during halftime of the Iowa – Texas Southern game.

"These endowed scholarships are an important asset to Iowa’s program," said Mark Jennings, director of development for intercollegiate athletics. "Privately funded scholarships help make it possible for us to support outstanding students who combine athletic and academic success. About 350 student-athletes received some scholarship aid this year, so the 70-plus endowed scholarships provide a solid foundation for Iowa’s scholarship program."

A fully endowed scholarship, which covers the cost of tuition, books, student fees, room and board, can be created with gifts ranging from $125,000 to $250,000. Partial scholarships are funded at a level of $30,000 or more. The following is a list of Hawkeye student-athletes who received named scholarships (full and partial) during the 1999-2000 academic year.


Visionary Level
Scholarship Recipient Sport
Beth and Bob Allsop Men’s Basketball Point Guard Scholarship Established 1999 Basketball—Men’s
Mark Falb Football Quarterback Scholarship Scott Mullen Football
Bill and John Fenton Memorial Football Scholarship Established 1999 Football
John and Peg Slusher Softball Catcher Scholarship Katy Jendrzejewski Softball


Leadership Level
Scholarship Recipient Sport
John and Ruth Beckman Scholarship Aaron Kampman
Travis Rosen
Mike Boddicker Baseball Scholarship Andrew Jansen Baseball
Lester Bookey Memorial Scholarship Aron Klein Football
Carver Scholarships/Slater Award To be announced  
John and Mary Ann Colloton Men’s Basketball Scholarship Jason Price Basketball-Men’s
John and Mary Ann Colloton Football Scholarship Joe Slattery Football
John and Mary Ann Colloton Women’s Basketball Scholarship Cara Consuegra Basketball-Women’s
John and Mary Ann Colloton Wrestling Scholarship T. J. Williams Wrestling
Catherine Nacke Cooper Men’s Basketball Scholarship Duez Henderson Basketball-Men’s
Tom Davis Basketball Manager Scholarship Chris Garber Basketball-Men’s
C. W. (Bump) Elliott Scholarship Matt Stockdale Football
Dr. Brent and Lynette Feller Men’s Basketball Scholarship Rod Thompson Basketball-Men’s
Hayden Fry Captain’s Scholarship Zeron Flemister
Matt Bowen
Eugene and Pat Gauron Women’s Tennis Scholarship Shera Wiegler Tennis-Women’s
Theo and Glenda Hitchens Football Scholarship Corey Brown Football
Theo and Glenda Hitchens Men’s Basketball Scholarship Marcelo Gomes Basketball-Men’s
Richard O. Jacobson Football Scholarship Robbie Crockett Football
Nile Kinnick Memorial Scholarship Todd Strada
Rob Thein
Kevin Kasper
Kevin Agnew
W. A. Krause Football Scholarship Alonzo Cunningham Football
Gary Kurdelmeier Wrestling Scholarship Eric Juergens Wrestling
Robert and Dorothy Lee Scholarship Brad Carlson Baseball
Jack and Ailene Liechty Men’s Basketball Scholarship Antonio Ramos Basketball-Men’s
Jack and Ailene Liechty Football Scholarship Levar Woods Football
Jack and Ailene Liechty Women’s Basketball Scholarship Randi Peterson Basketball-Women’s
Brad and Anne Lohaus Men’s Basketball Scholarship Jacob Jaacks Basketball-Men’s
Bucky O’Connor Men’s Basketball Scholarship Dean Oliver Basketball–Men’s
Bucky O’Connor Men’s Golf Scholarship Adam Turner Golf–Men’s
Bob and Dorothy Otto Memorial Scholarship Marko Milenkovic Swimming-Men’s
William and Kay Pitlik Wrestling Scholarship Doug Schwab Wrestling
William and Kay Pitlik Football Scholarship Established 1999 Football
William and Kay Pitlik Softball Scholarship Established 1999 Softball
William and Kay Pitlik Women’s Basketball Scholarship Established 1999 Women’s Basketball
Stella Wolff Sanford Women’s Scholarship Lisa Deimerly Rowing
Chris Street Memorial Men’s Basketball Scholarship Ryan Luehrsmann Basketball-Men’s
John Streif Men’s Basketball Scholarship To be announced Basketball
Ben Trickey Memorial Scholarship Tim Douglas Football
John and Dorothy Sill Wrestling Scholarship Gabe McMahon Wrestling
Dale L. Tieden Memorial Scholarship Bashir Yamini
Stetson Steele

Sustaining Tuition
Scholarship Recipient Sport
Amana Refrigeration Scholarship Loredana Zisu Swimming-Women’s
Bechtel Trust-Athletic Scholarships Zeron Flemister
Brian Hamilton
Amy Soenksen
Tammy Utley
Austin Wheatley
Troy Wulf
Champion Scholarship Lindsey Lewman Swimming-Women’s
Tony Cordaro Memorial Scholarship Paul Jenn Wrestling
Frank J. "Bab" Cuhel Scholarship Arno Van der Westhuizen Track-Men’s
Timothy Hawks Darrah Scholarship Brian Mitchell Baseball
P. J. Fessler Memorial Scholarship Dan Abel Swimming-Men’s
Louis Ginsberg Memorial Scholarship Troy Wulf Baseball
Stuart Gray Memorial Scholarship Matt Bowen Football
Reed Herman Hartsook Scholarship Tarig Holman Football
Dr. Pat Hicks Memorial Scholarship Anna Shearer Cross Country/ Track-Women’s
Gregg Kucharo Memorial Scholarship Jason Baker Football
Jack and Ailene Liechty Scholarship David Hersch Golf-Men’s
Paul Mason Memorial Scholarship Amber Morrow Softball
Robert Ray Faculty Representative Scholarship Amy Herrig Basketball-Women’s
Kris Rogers Memorial Scholarship Lisa Rasche
Lindsey Meder
Richard E. Romey Memorial Scholarship Jay Bickford Football
Thomas Schulze Memorial Scholarship Louis Datilio Gymnastics-Men’s
Dr. John Skien Memorial Scholarship Tariq Peterson Football
Tim Emmett Steele Memorial Scholarship Tom Buetekofer Tennis-Men’s
Marshall Stewart Memorial Scholarship Lee Weber Wrestling
Vivian and William Stringer Scholarship Beatrice Bullock Basketball-Women’s
Bud Suter Memorial Award Tyler Cleveland Tennis-Men’s
Updegraff Family Scholarship Erica Johnson Tennis-Women’s
John R. Winnie Memorial Award Ben Bamsey
Tom Buetekofer
Charles Zwiener Scholarship Jason Price Golf-Men’s

A Visionary Level scholarship requires an endowment of $250,000 or more and provides a named scholarship for a specific team position. A Leadership Level scholarship requires an endowment of at least $125,000 and provides a named scholarship for a specific sport. A Sustaining Tuition scholarship requires an endowment of at least $30,000 and provides general scholarship support.

For more information about how to establish a named scholarship in men’s or women’s athletics, contact Andy Piro at the University of Iowa Foundation at (319) 335-3305. The University of Iowa Foundation is the preferred channel for private support to all areas of the University of Iowa.